skip to Main Content

 

Do you have a Mystic event to share? Submit An Event
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Lynne Reeves (The Dangers of an Ordinary Night) Author Talk and Q&A with Jeanne Blasberg at Savoy Bookshop & Café

November 16 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Free

Savoy Bookshop & Café presents an author talk and Q&A with Lynne Reeves for the new book, The Dangers of an Ordinary Night. Lynne will be in conversation with local author Jeanne Blasberg (Eden: A Novel, The Nine).

This event is free, but registration is requested.

About the Book
Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Megan Abbott, Lynne Reeves’ The Dangers of an Ordinary Night is an exploration of the explosive family secrets that are often hidden in plain sight.

On a chilly fall evening at the prestigious Performing Arts High School of Boston, best friends Tali Carrington and June Danforth go missing after auditioning for a play. They’re last seen in grainy, out-of-focus surveillance footage that shows them walking away from the school. Two days later in a town south of Boston, Tali is found disoriented and traumatized by the ocean’s edge, while June is pronounced dead at the scene.

Tali’s mother, Nell, is so bent on protecting her daughter from further emotional harm that she ignores rumors of her husband’s involvement and enlists the help of Cynthia Rawlins, a reunification therapist with personal insight into the riptide that hides below the surface of every unsuspecting family. Meanwhile, Detective Fitz Jameson uncovers a criminal undertow involving the high school’s overachieving students, and finally sees an opportunity for personal redemption from a secret that’s haunted him for years.

As Nell, Cynthia, and Fitz confront their own contributions to the scandals that beleaguer them, their lives turn out to be more deeply intertwined than they’d ever imagined. In the end, they must decide what lengths they’re willing to go to protect the people they love while also saving themselves.

About Lynne Reeves
Lynne Reeves is an internationally recognized family counselor and novelist. Her short fiction, essays, and articles have appeared in Parents, Psychology Today, Solstice Literary Magazine, Chautauqua Journal, Craft Literary, Fiction Writers Review, Brain, Child and more. Lynne regularly appears as a media guest expert to discuss contemporary family life and preventive mental health. This is her first novel of domestic suspense.

About Jeanne Blasberg
Jeanne Blasberg is the author of Eden: A Novel, winner of the Beverly Hills Book Awards for Women’s Fiction and finalist for the Benjamin Franklin Award for Best New Voice in Fiction and Sarton Women’s Book Award for Historical Fiction. Blasberg founded the Westerly Memoir Project. She sits on the board of the Boston Book Festival and Grub Street, one of the country’s preeminent creative writing centers, where she enjoys being part of a community of enthusiastic learners. She and her husband have three grown children and split time between Boston, MA and Westerly, RI.

Details

Date:
November 16
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Cost:
Free
View Event Website

Organizer

Savoy Bookshop & Café
Phone:
(401) 213-3901
Email:
events@mysticnoanklibrary.org
View Organizer Website

Venue

Savoy Bookshop & Café
10 Canal Street
Westerly, 02891
+ Google Map
Phone:
(401) 213-3901
View Venue Website

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

Do you have a Mystic event to share? Submit An Event
×Close search
Search