skip to Main Content

 

Do you have a Mystic event to share? Submit An Event
Loading Events

« All Events

Heather Webb (Three Words for Goodbye) In-Person Author Talk and Q&A at Bank Square Books

July 28 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Free

Bank Square Books presents an author talk and Q&A with Heather Webb for the release of the new book Three Words for Goodbye.

This event is free, but registration is requested. Registration details are at the bottom of this page.

About the Book
“From Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb, the bestselling authors of Meet Me in Monaco comes a coming-of-age novel set in pre-WWII Europe, perfect for fans of Jennifer Robson, Beatriz Williams, and Kate Quinn.

Three cities, two sisters, one chance to correct the past . . .

New York, 1937: When estranged sisters Clara and Madeleine Sommers learn their grandmother is dying, they agree to fulfill her last wish: to travel across Europe—together. They are to deliver three letters, in which Violet will say goodbye to those she hasn’t seen since traveling to Europe forty years earlier; a journey inspired by famed reporter, Nellie Bly.

Clara, ever-dutiful, sees the trip as an inconvenient detour before her wedding to millionaire Charles Hancock, but it’s also a chance to embrace her love of art. Budding journalist Madeleine relishes the opportunity to develop her ambitions to report on the growing threat of Hitler’s Nazi party and Mussolini’s control in Italy.

Constantly at odds with each other as they explore the luxurious Queen Mary, the Orient Express, and the sights of Paris and Venice,, Clara and Madeleine wonder if they can fulfil Violet’s wish, until a shocking truth about their family brings them closer together. But as they reach Vienna to deliver the final letter, old grudges threaten their reconciliation again. As political tensions rise, and Europe feels increasingly volatile, the pair are glad to head home on the Hindenburg, where fate will play its hand in the final stage of their journey.

About the Authors
Heather Webb is the award-winning and USA Today bestselling author of The Last Ship Home, The Phantom’s Apprentice, Rodin’s Lover, and Becoming Josephine. Heather is also a freelance editor, and teaches craft courses at a local college. Her novels have been translated into more than a dozen languages, worldwide. She lives in Connecticut with her family and one feisty rabbit.

Hazel Gaynor is a freelance writer and author whose work has appeared throughout the media in Ireland and the United Kingdom. She is a features writer for the national Irish writing website Writing.ie and she also writes a popular guest blog Carry on Writing. She received the 2012 Cecil Day Lewis Literary Bursary Award for emerging writers. Originally from Yorkshire, England, Hazel now lives in Ireland with her husband, two young children, and an accident-prone cat.

Details

Date:
July 28
Time:
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
View Event Website

Organizer

Bank Square Books
Phone:
(860) 536-3795
Email:
assistant@banksquarebooks.com
View Organizer Website

Venue

Bank Square Books
53 West Main Street
Mystic, CT 06355 United States
+ Google Map

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

Do you have a Mystic event to share? Submit An Event
×Close search
Search